Description

Title: The Korean War – Australia in the Giants’ Playground 

Author: Forbes, Cameron

Condition: Near Mint

Edition: 1st Edition

Publication Date: 2010

ISBN: 9781405040013

Cover: Hard Cover with Dust Jacket – 534 pages

Comments: The Korean War was a 20th Century conflict that has never ended. South Korea, a powerhouse economy and dynamic democracy sits uneasily alongside North Korea, the world’s most secretive, belligerent, unpredictable and repressive totalitarian state. Today, tensions simmer and occasionally flare into outright violence on a peninsula dense with arms, munitions and nuclear warheads.

Cameron Forbes, acclaimed author of Hellfire, tells the story of the war and Australia’s involvement in it in a riveting narrative. From the letters and diaries of those diggers who fought across Korea’s unforgiving hills and mountains to the grand strategies formulated in Washington, Moscow and Beijing, The Korean War reveals the conflict on all its levels – human, military and geopolitical. In the tradition of Les Carlyon’s Gallipoli and The Great War and Paul Ham’s Vietnam, Cameron Forbes has written a masterpiece that will serve as the definitive history of Australia and the Korean War.

Author Information

Cameron Forbes was born in Rockhampton, Queensland. He has been foreign editor of The Age, European and Asia correspondent for The Age and Washington correspondent for The Australian. He has reported wars and civil wars in the Middle East, Rwanda, Afghanistan and Bougainville. He has spent much time in that fascinating foreign country, Aboriginal Australia. He has received the Graham Perkin Journalist of the Year Award, the Canadian Award for Journalist Merit and the United Nations Association Media Peace Award.