Title: Fifty Years of the Royal Australian Armoured Corps, 1948 to 1998

Author: Handel, Paul

Condition: Near Mint

Edition: 1st Edition

Publication Date: 1998


Cover: Soft Cover without Dust Jacket – 100 pages

Comments: The history of the Royal Australian Armoured Corps 1948 to 1998 – covers each RAAC Regiment’s history.

The Royal Australian Armoured Corps (RAAC) is a corps in the Australian Army. The corps was formed on 9 July 1941 as the Australian Armoured Corps to provide personnel to use Armoured Fighting Vehicles. It is the senior arms corps within the army and was granted the Royal prefix in 1948. Units of the RAAC include tank regiments, reconnaissance regiments and armoured personnel-carrier regiments.

    Regular Army

        1st Armoured Regiment – Armoured
        2nd Cavalry Regiment – Reconnaissance
        B Squadron, 3rd/4th Cavalry Regiment – Light Armoured
        2nd/14th Light Horse Regiment (Queensland Mounted Infantry) – Reconnaissance

    Army Reserve

        1st/15th Royal New South Wales Lancers – Light cavalry / Reconnaissance
        3rd/9th Light Horse (South Australia Mounted Rifles) – Light cavalry / Reconnaissance
        4th/19th Prince of Wales’s Light Horse – Light cavalry / Reconnaissance
        A Squadron, 10th Light Horse Regiment – Light cavalry / Reconnaissance
        12th/16th Hunter River Lancers – Light Armoured

    Japan (British Commonwealth Occupation Force) : 1946–1949
    South Vietnam : 1965–1971
    Somalia : 1993
    Rwanda : 1994
    East Timor : 1999 – Present
    Iraq : 2003 – Present
    Afghanistan : 2006 – Present
    Solomon Islands : 2007 – Present