Title: Kit Muster – Uniforms, Badges and Categories of the Australian Navy 1865 – 1953

Author: Perryman, John CSM

Condition: Mint

Edition: 1st Edition

Publication Date: 2011

ISBN: 9780980777468

Cover: Hard Cover without Dust Jacket – 305 pages

Comments: This fantastic and long awaited new book is the comprehensive reference on Royal Australian Navy Uniforms, Badges and Categories between 1865 and 1953. A must for anyone interested in the insignia of the Royal Australian Navy.

The Royal Australian Navy (RAN) is the naval branch of the Australian Defence Force. Following the Federation of Australia in 1901, the ships and resources of the separate colonial navies were integrated into a national force: the Commonwealth Naval Forces. Originally intended for local defence, the navy was granted the title of ‘Royal Australian Navy’ in 1911, and became increasingly responsible for defence of the region.

Britain’s Royal Navy continued to support the RAN and provide additional blue-water defence capability in the Pacific up to the early years of World War II. Then, rapid wartime expansion saw the acquisition of large surface vessels and the building of many smaller warships. In the decade following the war, the RAN acquired a small number of aircraft carriers, the last of these paying off in 1982.

Today, the RAN is one of the largest and most sophisticated naval forces in the Pacific region, with a significant presence in the Indian Ocean and worldwide operations in support of military campaigns and peacekeeping missions.